The Mevlevi Museum is located next to the Kyrenia Gate in the northern part of Nicosia on the territory of the so-called Turkish Republic of Cyprus (TRK).
The building was built at the end of the XVI century after the entry of Cyprus into the Ottoman Empire. Lala Mustafa Pasha, Arab Ahmet Pasha, the first cadius and the mufti of the island were members of the Order of Mevlevi, or the Order of Dancing Dervishes. Until 1920, when Turkish President Ataturk banned religious lodges, there was a place for religious meetings of members of this order – the Abode of Dancing Dervishes. Inside are the graves of 16 Sheikhs of Mevlevi. The last sheikh – the head of the order died in 1954.
Currently, the building houses an ethnographic museum.
Winter: 09.00-13.00 / 14.00-16.45