The ruins of the Greek Church of St. George are located in the city of Famagusta.
Date of construction of the church is unknown, but since it was built by very skilled craftsmen at about the same time as the Cathedral of St. Nicholas (and perhaps even was the prototype of this cathedral), the church probably dates back to the beginning of the 14th century.
During the reign of the Lusignan dynasty, the church of St. George was considered the cathedral of the Greek population of the island. This church, made in the Byzantine style, was one of the most beautiful architectural buildings. It is assumed that the treasures of Archbishop Epifanos (310 – 406 years) are buried under the building of the church.
In 1571, during the siege of Venetian Famagusta by the Turks, the church of St. George was almost completely destroyed – only one wall and part of the apse (semicircular protruding part) remained from it. This was not only the shelling of the walls of the Ottoman cannons, but also the explosion of ammunition hidden in the storehouses, which led to a shift in the foundation and collapse. Only the magnificent masonry of the cathedral allowed its parts to remain so far.