Büyük Hamam

Büyük Hamam is a Turkish bath in the Iplik Bazar–Korkut Effendi quarter of North Nicosia. It stands close to the İplik Pazarı Mosque. As a result of the rise of the ground of the surrounding areas over time, its door is now located around 2 meters below the ground level, and the bath rooms are 3 meters below.
On the site of the bath, the Lusignan church of St. George of the Latins was constructed from 1306 to 1309, and opened with great festivities. The church was the site of two important events in the 14th century. On 10 November 1330, Nicosia was struck by a flood of the Pedieos River, which then flowed inside the city walls. The flood caused the death of 3,000 people and the place up to where the water of the river rose is still marked with a nail from the Lusignan period.
The building was rebuilt as a Turkish bath between 1571 and 1590 during the first years of the Ottoman rule in the island. During the Ottoman period, it was a popular social center where women socialized, exchanged news and ate. In 1891, when the marble plaques in the “sıcaklık” section were being disassembled, one of the plaques was revealed to be a medieval tombstone and was relocated to a museum. The original boiler of the bath was made of stone, but when the operator complained that it required too much wood to heat it and that it reduced profits, it was replaced by a copper one.
The bath was renovated in 2007 and 2008 with the help of the UNDP and USAID, with the technique used highlighting the original qualities of the bathhouse.